Ward committee members introduced

Ward 18’s ward committee recently met with the NEWS to discuss the role it plays in the community.

Comprised of residents from the ward, the committee reports matters affecting the ward to the municipality.

Also read: Ward committee elections

“The role of a ward committee is to support the ward councillor and serve the community,” explained Ward 18 Clr Heather Hart.

Members of Ward 18’s ward committee are Antony Bishop, Nicollete van der Walt, Bradley Schott, Zweli Nkalitshana, Ward 18 councillor Heather Hart, Margaret Pedder and Makwena Mabula.

“Committee members are elected to represent and interact with interest groups in their community.”

She said some of the duties of elected members include addressing the needs of residents, to facilitate community participation and distribute information to the public.

Hart said besides interacting with the community, committee members provide feedback from the municipality to ward councillors.

Also read: Applications open for ward 20 committee

“Committee members should work towards serving the best interests of the community,” said Hart.

On each committee there are 12 positions; community members can fill 10 of those positions.

The two other positions are filled by the ward councillor and ward coordinator, Zweli Nkalitshana.

Each committee member interacts with a different sector of the community.

Members of Ward 18’s ward committee at a recent committee member meeting in February.

The following community members are on Ward 18’s ward committees:

• Nicollete van der Walt – women and children.

• Thabitha Mamabolo – aged and disabled.

• Dudu Resane – youth.

• Antony Bishop – faith-based organisations.

• Margaret Pedder – environmental development.

• Makwena Mabula – health and social development.

• Realeboha Mofolo – infrastructure services.

• Bradley Schott – sports, heritage, recreational, arts and culture (shrac).

Positions vacant on ward 18’s committee include economic development and city planning and community safety.

Also read: Residents invited to Ward 18 meeting

The following community members are on Ward 19’s ward committee:

• Seipati Bapela – women and children.

• Moloko Mnakane – youth.

• Namathamsanqa Kama – development and city planning.

• Mandisa Ngcambu – infrastructure services.

• Phoko Megbuluba – faith-based organisations.

• Douglas Sithole – community safety.

• Vacant positions on Ward 19’s ward committee include aged and disabled, environmental development, health and social development and shrac.

To get involved in the ward committees contact Hart on 082 902 1834 or Ward 19 Clr Bill Rundle on 074 111 2488.

Stephan Lehman

Latest News



Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

Alex News
City Buzz
Fourways Review
Joburg East Express
Midrand Reporter
North Eastern Tribune
Northcliff Melville Times
Randburg Sun
Roodepoort Northsider
Rosebank Killarney Gazette
Sandton Chronicle

Your details:

Your friends: